Student Life


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 9. Committee on Student Life.

  1. The Committee on Student Life shall be composed of the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, the Director for Leadership Programs, a Leadership Programs staff member, the Assistant Vice President for Student Retention or designee; the Director of International Student and Scholar Services or designee; one representative from Legal Affairs (non-voting); Student Government Association (SGA) advisor (non-voting); six (6) student members of the University Senate; six (6) SGA senators selected by SGA president; one staff senator, two (2) student members who are not members of the University Senate (appointed by the Associate VP for Student Affairs), and at least thirteen (13) faculty senators as follows:  two (2) members each from the College of Arts and Sciences, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, and the College of Education and Human Development; one (1) each from the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of the Arts, the College of Law, and the School of Public Health.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the VP of Student Affairs and to the University Senate concerning matters relating to student organizations and the following student programs and services: student activities, student conduct, recreation, housing, media, orientation and leadership, student facilities, volunteerism, disability services, multicultural center, health services, career services, and honors and awards.
  3. The duties of the committee shall include:
    a. to approve charters of student organizations;
    b. to review and approve policies related to student organizations and leadership;
    c. to elect a non-student member of the committee to serve on the Student Activity Fee Committee
  4. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after election of a new committee.


  • Associate VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Lanette Brown (interim)
  • Director of Leadership Programs Kristina Clement
  • Leadership Programs staff member to be named
  • Director of International Student and Scholar Services (or designee) Heather Housley
  • VP for Student Engagement & Programs (or designee) Allison Calhoun-Brown
  • Legal Affairs member (non-voting) Jeannie Barrett
  • Student Government Association advisor (non-voting)  Boyd Beckwith

At least 13 faculty members:

  • (A&S) Amy Reber
  • (A&S) John Evans
  •  (A&S) James Ainsworth
  •  (A&S) Ciara Smalls-Glover
  • (Arts) Kenneth Long
  • (AYSPS) Kristie Seelman
  • (CEHD) Tonia Durden
  • (CEHD) Ewa McGrail
  •  (Law) Jessie Cino
  •  (Library) Tamika Barnes
  • (NHP) Teresa Bates
  • (PER) Joanna Wilson
  • (PER) Gina Flowers
  • (PER) Neely Gossett
  • (PER) Kimberly Bennekin
  • (PER) Debora Constable
  • (PER) Jennifer Duncan
  • (PER) Clarence Massie
  • (PER) Romney Norwood (vice chair)
  • (RCB) Leonard Jackson
  • (RCB) Sevgin Eroglu
  • (SPH) Kim Ramsey-White (chair)

The 6 student members of the University Senate:

  • Student member of the Senate Audrey Abraham
  • Student member of the Senate
  • Student member of the Senate 
  • Student member of the Senate 
  • Student member of the Senate
  • Student member of the Senate

The 6 SGA senators selected by the SGA president:

  • Student member of the Senate Tyson Stokes
  • Student member of the Senate Nazhaya Cornett
  • Student member of the Senate Cedric Jackson
  • Student member of the Senate
  • Student member of the Senate
  • Student member of the Senate
  • Staff senator Booker Linkhorn
  • Students (2) not members of Senate (appt. by Associate VP for Student Affairs)
    • Appointed student
    • Appointed student 

Administrative Assistant to the committee Jeff Benson, Assistant Director for Leadership Programs



View Full Calendar