Planning & Development


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 8. Committee on Planning and Development

  1. The Committee on Planning and Development shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; the Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration;  the Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs; the Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation; the Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness; the Vice President for Facilities; three students who are members of the University Senate; at least two staff senators; and at least twenty-eight (28) faculty senators with at least one senator from each of the following: the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Education and Human Development, the College of the Arts, the College of Law, Perimeter College, the School of Public Health, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, and the University Library, with the remaining members selected at large. The following shall serve as ex-officio, non-voting members:  the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Vice President for Research and Economic Development, the Chief Innovation Officer, and the Dean of Libraries.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the President and University Senate. The committee shall be responsible for the development of long-range projections, taking into account the role and scope of the University, its financial resources, budget-making process, and its relation with, and service to, the public. Included in the responsibilities of the committee shall be the recommendation of the University Strategic Plan; consideration of long-range planning for academic programs as developed by the Committee on Admissions and Standards, the Committee on Academic Programs, and the Committee on Research; the acquisition of facilities, the maintenance of physical facilities and grounds, the allocation of space, development, alumni affairs, and institutional studies; and to oversee the Administrative and Support Unit Review process.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Wendy Hensel
  • Senior VP for Finance and Administration Jerry Rackliffe
  • VP for Development and Alumni Affairs Jay Kahn
  • Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation
  • Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness Michael Galchinsky
  • Vice President for Facilities Ramesh Vakamudi
  • Student (member of senate-ATL) Uribe Valverde Ramirez
  • Student (member of the senate-ATL) Jennifer Lopez
  • Student (member of the senate-ATL) Takia Tinsley
  • Student (member of the senate-PC) Ashrakat Hassan
  • Staff senator Bonte’ Mitchell
  • Staff senator Noey Watson
  • At least 28 faculty members as follows:

    • Arts and Sciences Maged Henary
    • Arts Martin Norgaard
    • Business Chris Fenn
    • Education and Human Development Brett Wong
    • Nursing and Health Professions Carol Grantham
    • Nursing and Health Professions Jade Elise Gross
    • Law Jennifer Chiovaro
    • Policy Studies Vjollca Sadiraj
    • Policy Studies Nelson Pizarro
    • Policy Studies Jan Ivery
    • Library
    • Perimeter Joe Patterson
    • Public Health Ike Okosun
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Bethany Turner-Livermore
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Mary Ann Romski
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Xiaojun Cao
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Michael Harker
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Jared Poley (chair)
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Mariana Montiel
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Michael Black
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Lindsey Cohen
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Sebastian Rand
    • Faculty senator (A&S) Florian Enescu
    • Faculty senator (RCB) Andrew Sumner
    • Faculty senator (RCB) Songqi Liu
    • Faculty senator (PC) Gina Flowers
    • Faculty senator (PC) Kenneth McNamara
    • Faculty senator (PC) Jay Dunn
    • Faculty senator  (PC) Solomon Fesseha
    • VP for Student Engagement & Programs (non-voting) Allison Calhoun-Brown
    • Chief Innovation Officer (non-voting) Phil Ventimiglia
    • Dean of Libraries (non-voting) Jeff Steely
    • VP for Research and Economic Development (non-voting) Michael Eriksen (interim)
    • Presidential Appointee

    Administrative Assistant to the committee: to be named



    2017/09/25 P&D Committee minutes 25.20 KB 75 downloads



    View Full Calendar