From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:
Section 4. Library Committee

  1. The Library Committee shall be composed of the Dean of Libraries, the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success and Vice Provost; two students who are members of the Senate; one staff senator; and at least eight (8) faculty senators, preferably one from each of the following:  the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, with any additional members selected at large.
  2. The committee shall be advisory to the Dean of Libraries, shall make recommendations to the University Senate, and shall serve as liaison between the members of the faculty and the library.
  3. The duties of the committee shall be:
    1. To review annually the status of the Library as it affects the programs and curricula of the University, and as it relates to the standards of the various accrediting agencies; and to make such recommendations for improvement as may seem necessary;
    2. To advise the Dean of Libraries on policy and operational matters which may be brought to the committee by the Dean of Libraries or referred to the committee by the University Senate;
    3. To review with the Dean of Libraries matters of long-range library planning, and to make recommendations where appropriate;
    4. To receive from the faculty or from any college or unit recommendations or suggestions which may aid in the development, promote efficient service, or encourage increased use of the Library.
  4. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


  • Dean of Libraries  Jeff Steely
  • VP for Enrollment Management and Student Success and Vice Provost Tim Renick
  • Student (member of the Senate)
  • Student (member of the Senate)
  • Staff senator Janice Maxwell

At least eight (8) faculty members as follows:

  • Arts and Sciences Wendy Venet
  • Arts Richard Clement
  • Business Mourad Dakhli
  • Education and Human Development Patricia Carter
  • Nursing and Health Professions Anita Nucci
  • Law Kris Niedringhaus
  • Perimeter Deborah Manson
  • Policy Studies Joseph Hacker (chair)
  • At large (RCB) Pam Barr
  • At large (RCB) Harold Weston
  • At large (A&S) Diane Belcher
  • At large (A&S) LeeAnn Richardson
  • At large (A&S) Florian Enesco
  • At large (A&S) Elena del Rio Parra
  • At large (A&S) Michael Fix
  • At large (AYSPS) Jacques Scott
  • At large (CEHD) Brendan Calandra
  • At large (PC) Vincente Della Tonia
  • At large (PC) Maureen Burkart
  • At large (PC) Valarie Koonce
  • Student representative TBA

Administrative Assistant to the Committee: Pamela Lucas, Library Administrative Office


Document Title Meeting Date File
2012/03/13 Senate Library Committee minutes 03/13/2012
2012/08/28 Senate Library Committee minutes 08/28/2012
2013/09/13 Senate Library Committee minutes 09/13/2013
2013/12/12 Senate Library Committee minutes 12/12/2013
2014/03/04 Senate Library Committee minutes 03/04/2014
2016/02/16 Senate Library Committee minutes 02/16/2016
2016/10/03 Senate Library Committee minutes 10/03/2016
2017/02/22 Senate Library Committee minutes 02/22/2017
2017/11/03 Senate Library Committee minutes 11/03/2017
2018/03/28 Senate Library Committee minutes 03/28/2018


View Full Calendar