Cultural Diversity


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:
Section 16. Committee on Cultural Diversity

  1. The Committee on Cultural Diversity shall be composed of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, the Associate Provost for International Initiatives, the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, the Senior Faculty Associate for Disabilities, the Director of Affirmative Action, a representative from the Office of International Student and Scholar Services, two (2) students senators, two (2) staff senators, and at least twelve (12) faculty senators, preferably one each from the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, the College of Law, and the University Library, with the remaining members selected at large.  The Ombudsperson shall serve as a non-voting member.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the University Senate on any matters concerning cultural diversity. The duties of this committee shall include:
    1. advocating equal treatment for the groups identified under the Equal Opportunity Statement, which include race, gender, sexual orientation, age, disability, national origin, and religion, and recommending ways in which the campus climate might be made more supportive of diversity;
    2. reviewing the annual report by the Affirmative Action Office on faculty, student, and staff diversity, and providing an annual Cultural Diversity Report on campus progress and areas of concern to the Senate at the Spring meeting as well as to the Senate Executive Committee for referral to the appropriate standing committee(s);
    3. supporting the continued diversity of incoming students and their retention by assisting the appropriate bodies;
    4. assuring diversity in the recruitment and retention of staff at all levels;
    5. disseminating information to the colleges as needed to implement their guidelines for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty;
    6. advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Underrepresented Faculty on strategies for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty, and advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Women as needed;
    7. reviewing and recommending changes to the University’s policies on Discriminatory Harassment and Sexual Harassment; and
    8. participating in the development, review, and recommendation of changes in University policies supporting equal treatment for the groups identified above.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the establishment of a new committee.


  • Vice President for Student Affairs Allison Calhoun-Brown (interim)
  • Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs Kavita Pandit
  • Associate Provost for International Initiatives Wolfgang Schloer
  • Associate VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Lanette Brown (interim)
  • Senior Faculty Associate for Disabilities Judith Emerson
  • Director of Affirmative Action Annette Butler
  • International Student Services representative Heather Housley
  • Student senator-ATL (appt. by SGA) Kaylee Milani
  • Student senator-ATL (appt. by SGA) Jonathan Tshizubu
  • Staff senator Sabra Blackwell
  • Staff senator

Twelve (12) faculty members:

  • Arts and Sciences Jennifer McCoy
  • Arts Alessandra Raengo
  • Business Fernando Doria
  • Education and Human Development Nancy Schafer
  • Nursing and Health Professions Kenya Kirkendoll
  • Nursing and Health Professions Stephan Davis
  • Nursing and Health Professions Jade Elise Gross
  • Perimeter Debora Constable
  • Policy Studies Cyntoria Johnson
  • Public Health Kim Ramsey-White
  • Library Kathryn Michaelis
  • Campus Ombudsperson Birthe Reimers and Corey Givens (non-voting member)
  • At large (A&S) Diane Belcher 
  • At large (A&S) Renee Schatteman
  • At large (A&S) Maurice Hobson
  • At large (A&S) James Ainsworth (chair)
  • At large (A&S) Bethany Turner-Livermore
  • At large (A&S) Sharon Cavusgil
  • At large (A&S) Rasha Ramzy
  • At large (A&S) Jeffrey Trask
  • At large (A&S) John Evans
  • At large (A&S) Leslie Meadows
  • At large (A&S) Carmen Hermann
  • At large (AYSPS) Sharon Hill
  • At large (AYSPS) Kristie Seelman
  • At large (CEHD) Tonia Durden
  • At large (IBMS) Baozhong Wang
  • At large (LAW) Tameka Lester
  • At large (RCB) Sevgin Eroglu
  • At large (PC)  Neely Gossett
  • At large (PC)  Kimberly Bennekin
  • At large (PC)  Shane Bruce
  • At large (PC)  Owen Cantrell
  • At large (PC)  Joann Joyner
  • At large (PC) Kenneth McNamara
  • At large (PC)  John Redmond (vice chair)
  • At large (PC) Stacey Mitchell
  • At large (PC) Erin Morrey
  • At large (PC) Romney Norwood
  • At large (PC) Ryan Lake
  • Presidential Appointee

Administrative Assistant to the Committee to be named, Office of Faculty Affairs/Student Affairs




View Full Calendar