Cultural Diversity


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:
Section 16. Committee on Cultural Diversity

  1. The Committee on Cultural Diversity shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Student Success, the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, the Associate Provost for International Initiatives, the Vice President for Student Engagement and Programs, the Senior Faculty Associate for Disabilities, a representative from the Office of Equity and Civil Rights Compliance, a representative from the Office of International Student and Scholar Services, two (2) student senators, two (2) staff senators, and at least twelve (12) faculty senators, preferably one each from the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, the College of Law, and the University Library, with the remaining members selected at large. The Ombudsperson shall serve as a non-voting member.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the University Senate on any matters concerning cultural diversity. The duties of this committee shall include:
    1. advocating equal treatment for the groups identified under the Equal Opportunity Statement, which include race, gender, sexual orientation, age, disability, national origin, and religion, and recommending ways in which the campus climate might be made more supportive of diversity;
    2. reviewing the annual report by the Affirmative Action Office on faculty, student, and staff diversity, and providing an annual Cultural Diversity Report on campus progress and areas of concern to the Senate at the Spring meeting as well as to the Senate Executive Committee for referral to the appropriate standing committee(s);
    3. supporting the continued diversity of incoming students and their retention by assisting the appropriate bodies;
    4. assuring diversity in the recruitment and retention of staff at all levels;
    5. disseminating information to the colleges as needed to implement their guidelines for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty;
    6. advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Underrepresented Faculty on strategies for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty, and advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Women as needed;
    7. reviewing and recommending changes to the University’s policies on Discriminatory Harassment and Sexual Harassment; and
    8. participating in the development, review, and recommendation of changes in University policies supporting equal treatment for the groups identified above.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the establishment of a new committee.


  • Senior Vice President for Student Success  Allison Calhoun-Brown
  • Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs Corrie Fountain (Interim)
  • Associate Provost for International Initiatives Wolfgang Schloer
  • Vice President for Student Engagement & Programs Michael Sanseviro
  • Senior Faculty Associate for Disabilities
  • Office of Equity and Civil Rights Compliance Annette Butler
  • International Student Services representative Allie Seay
  • Student senator-(appt. by SGA)
  • Student senator-(appt. by SGA) 
  • staff Senator Karen Hudson
  • Staff senator 

Twelve (12) faculty members:

  • Arts and Sciences Stephanie Lindemann
  • Arts Jennifer Barker
  • Education and Human Development Miles Irving
  • Nursing and Health Professions Kenya Kirkendoll
  • Perimeter Kimberly Bennekin
  • Policy Studies Cyntoria Johnson
  • Public Health Emily Graybill
  • Library Eileen Kramer
  • At large (A&S) Rasha Ramzy
  • At large (A&S) Jody Brooks
  • At large (A&S) Gina Caison
  • At large (A&S) Yi Jiang
  • At large (A&S) Bethany Turner-Livermore (Chair)
  • At large (A&S) Carmen Hermann
  • At large (A&S) Leslie Meadows 
  • At large (A&S) Laura McKee
  • At large (A&S) Desmond Goss
  • At large (A&S) Amy Spring
  • At large (A&S) Hector Fernandez
  • At large (CEHD) Ruchi Bhatnagar
  • At large (LAW) Brandy Domengeaux
  • At large (SPH) Emily Graybill
  • At large (RCB) Elizabeth Lim
  • At large (PC)  Michael Baker
  • At large (PC)  Tami Thomas
  • At large (PC)  Owen Cantrell
  • At large (PC)  Joann Joyner
  • At large (PC) Michelle Kassorla
  • At large (PC)  Vicente Della Tonia Jr.
  • At large (PC) Dana Wiggins
  • At large (PC) Erin Morrey
  • At large (PC) Cynthia Stevens
  • At large (PC) Dennise Turner
  • At large (PC) Ryan Lake
  • At large (PC) Kimmy Kellett
  • Campus Ombudsperson Birthe Reimers  (non-voting member)
  • Presidential Appointee Kavita Pandit
  • Presidential Appointee Curtis Byrd

Administrative Assistant to the Committee to be named, Office of Faculty Affairs/Student Affairs




View Full Calendar