From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 14. Committee on Commencement

  1. The Committee on Commencement shall be composed of the President; the Registrar; the Vice President for Student Engagement and Programs; at least seven (7) faculty senators, one (1) staff senator; and two (2) students who are also members of the University Senate. The representative of the Emeriti Association will attend as a non-voting member.
  2. The duties of the committee shall include the following:
    1. To develop a pool of speakers for commencement exercises,
    2. To review and make recommendations concerning commencement exercises and related activities, and
    3. To review and make recommendations concerning honorary degree candidates to the President. The President submits the candidates’ names to the Board of Regents for final approval.
  3. Recommendations concerning speakers for commencement exercises may be made to the committee by members of the university faculty. Recommendations concerning honorary degree candidates may be made by any faculty member, staff member, student or alumnus.
  4. The committee shall elect a new chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


    • President M. Brian Blake (Chair)
    • Registrar Tarrah Mirus
    • VP for Student Engagement and Programs Michael Sanseviro
    • At least 7 faculty members at large:
    • Faculty Member at Large (Arts) Kevin Hsieh
    • Faculty Member at Large (Arts) Craig Dongoski
    • Faculty Member at Large (Policy Studies) Terri Lewinson
    • Faculty Member at Large (RCB) Vincent Yao
    • Faculty Member at Large (PER) Michael Baker
    • Faculty Member at Large (PER) Cynthia Stevens
    • Faculty Member at Large (PER) Sharon Derby
  • Emeriti Association representative (non-voting member) Theodore Wadley
  • Student (member of Senate) Anthonio Prince
  • Student (member of Senate)
  • Student (member of Senate)
  • Staff Senator Amanda Puche’
  • Appointed Member (by President) Christopher Robertson (Information resource from University Event Office) non-voting
  • Additional Member Sabrina Champion-Wilson (Associate Registrar)
  • Appointed Member (by President) Mesha Brown (Information resource from University Event Office) non-voting

Administrative Assistant to the Committee: Shana Brewton, President’s Office

Honorary Degree Nomination

If you’d like to submit an honorary degree nomination for committee review, please email your formal letter of nomination to



View Full Calendar