Admissions & Standards


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:
Section 5. Committee on Admissions and Standards.

  1. The Committee on Admissions and Standards shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; the Vice President for Student Affairs; the Director of Admissions; the Registrar; the Dean of Students; the Director of Financial Aid; the Dean of the Honors College; the Director of the Student Advisement Center; one student who is a member of the Senate; two staff senators; and at least twenty-three (23) faculty senators, as follows: six (6) members from the College of Arts and Sciences; five (5) members from Perimeter College; four (4) members from the J. Mack Robinson College of Business; three (3) members from the College of Education and Human Development; one (1) member each from the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions; the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies; the School of Public Health; the College of the Arts, and the College of Law; with the remaining members selected at large.
  2. The committee shall review and recommend to the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost and to the University Senate (1) changes in requirements and standards for admission to the university’s undergraduate degree programs, (2) changes in requirements and standards for undergraduate graduation, (3) changes in any university-wide requirements and standards for admission to or graduation from graduate degree programs, (4) changes in undergraduate academic regulations and any university-wide graduate academic regulations, (5) changes in the requirements concerning grades and the grading system, (5) petitions for deviations from the requirements and standards just listed, and (6) policies regarding enrollment management, and academic calendar.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Wendy Hensel 
  • VP for Student Affairs Allison Calhoun-Brown (interim)
  • Director of Admissions Scott Burke
  • Registrar Tarrah Mirus
  • Dean of Students Lanette Brown (interim)
  • Director of Financial Aid Aristea Williams
  • Dean of the Honors College Larry Berman
  • Director of the Student Advisement Center Carol Cohen
  • Student (member of the Senate-ATL) John Le
  • Student (member of the Senate)
  • Staff Senator Emily Cowdrick
  • Staff Senator Bonte’ Mitchell

At least 23 faculty members as follows:

  • Arts and Sciences Matthew Grober
  • Arts and Sciences
  • Arts and Sciences Elizabeth Lopez (chair)
  • Arts and Sciences Dai Dajun
  • Arts and Sciences Michelle Brattain
  • Perimeter Stephanie Garofalo
  • Perimeter Robby Williams
  • Perimeter Chandra Breaux
  • Perimeter Deniz Ballero
  • Business Gerald Gay
  • Business Shuguang Hong
  • Business Lixin Huang
  • Business Bruce Pilling
  • Business Perry Binder
  • Education and Human Development Julie Ann Washington
  • Education and Human Development Chantee Earl
  • Education and Human Development Tracey McKinney
  • Education and Human Development Deborah Shapiro
  • Nursing and Health Professions Kenya Kirkendoll
  • Policy Studies Susan Laury
  • Public Health Ike Okosun
  • Arts Patrick Freer
  • Arts Chester Phillips
  • Law Jennifer Chiovaro
  • At large (A&S) Valerie Miller
  • At large (A&S)  Ciara Smalls-Glover
  • At large (PC)  Amanda Boone
  • At large (PC)  Marc Zayac
  • Presidential appointee Lisa Armistead

Administrative Assistant to the committee:  Lori Nicole Howard


Enacted Committee Proposals

Listing of previous proposals approved by the Admissions and Standards Committee and enacted by the university.



View Full Calendar