Academic Programs


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 6. Committee on Academic Programs

  1. The Committee on Academic Programs shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success; the academic deans of the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of Law, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, and the Honors College; one student who is a member of the Senate; two staff senators; and at least twenty-seven (27) faculty senators, as follows: four (4) members each from the College of Arts and Sciences, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, and the College of Education and Human Development; two (2) members from the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies; one (1) each from the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions,the College of the Arts, the College of Law, and the School of Public Health; with the remaining members selected at large.
  2. The duties of the committee shall include the following:
    1. developing long-range plans for the academic affairs of the University;
    2. reviewing and recommending of university policies concerning curricula, new and existing programs, the deactivation and termination of academic programs, and the core curriculum;
    3. assessing academic programs and general education;
    4. approving courses having a university-wide designation;
    5. advising the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost on graduate and undergraduate matters, including the promotion, development, and coordination of graduate and undergraduate education.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.

Academic Programs Guide & Resources

  • Academic Programs Guide: Proposal templates and review process information for each of the types of academic program under the committee’s purview.
  • Policies & Resources: Links to enacted policies of the committee and related resources.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Wendy Hensel 
  • Senior VP for Student Success Tim Renick
  • Dean, Arts and Sciences Sara Rosen
  • Dean, Arts Wade Weast
  • Dean, Business Richard Phillips
  • Dean, Education and Human Development Paul Alberto
  • Dean, Nursing and Health Professions  Huanbiao Mo
  • Dean, Law Leslie Wolf (interim)
  • Dean, Perimeter College  Nancy Kropf
  • Dean, Policy Studies Sally Wallace 
  • Dean, Public Health Rodney Lyn (interim) 
  • Dean, Honors College  Larry Berman
  • Student (Senate member-ATL)  Nigel Walton
  • Staff Senator Janice Byrd
  • Staff Senator Nikki Marshall

At least 27 faculty members as follows:

  • Arts and Sciences Kathryn Grant
  • Arts and Sciences Jessica Parilla
  • Arts and Sciences Ming Luo
  • Arts and Sciences Carrie Freeman
  • Perimeter Donya Little
  • Perimeter Charles Fox
  • Perimeter Michael Bradley
  • Perimeter Cherie Rainwater
  • Business Leonard Jackson
  • Business Lixin Huang
  • Business Faye Borthick
  • Business Shuguang Hong
  • Education and Human Development Carla Tanguay
  • Education and Human Development  Nancy Schafer
  • Education and Human Development  Douglass Covey
  • Education and Human Development Richard Lakes
  • Institute for Biomedical Sciences Timothy Denning
  • Nursing and Health Professions  Douglas Gardenhire
  • Arts Ruth Stanford
  • Arts Craig Drennen
  • Law Kelly Timmons
  • Policy Studies Shelby Frost
  • Policy Studies  Sharon Hill
  • Public Health  Lisa Casanova
  • Library Leslie Madden
  • At large (A&S) Rasha Ramzy
  • At large (A&S) LeeAnn Richardson
  • At large (A&S) Valerie Miller
  • At large (A&S) Xiaojun Cao
  • At large (A&S) Sebastian Rand
  • At large (A&S)  Kim Reimann
  • At large (A&S) Michael Stewart
  • At large (A&S) Michelle Brattain (chair)
  • At large (A&S) Jared Poley
  • At large (A&S) Kathryn McClymond
  • At large (A&S) Ian Campbell
  • At large (PC)  Kim Bennett
  • At large (PC)  Sabrina Freeney
  • At large (PC)  Sally Robertson
  • At large (PC)  Robby Williams
  • At large (PC)  Antara Dutta
  • At large (PC) Susan Finazzo
  • At large (PC)  Mark Graves
  • At large (PC) Jay Dunn
  • At large (PC)  John Redmond
  • Presidential Appointee Lisa Armistead
  • Presidential Appointee Allison Calhoun-Brown
  • Presidential Appointee Wolfgang Schloer
  • Student (Senate member-PC) Ali Pirani

Administrative Assistant to the Committee:



View Full Calendar