Section 1. Georgia State University is one of the several institutions constituting the University System of Georgia. It is subject to the general jurisdiction of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. The term “Board of Regents” as used in these Statutes shall mean the Board of Regents and its executive officer, the Chancellor.

Section 2. Georgia State University shall exercise all authority conferred upon it by the Board of Regents, including the awarding of appropriate degrees to qualified candidates after recommendation of the faculties of the several colleges and schools of the University or the faculty members serving institutes of the University which are empowered to grant degrees but are not a part of a college or school.

Section 3. Georgia State University is comprised of the following: the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development , the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of Law, Perimeter College, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, the Honors College, and other units.

Section 4. These Statutes are subordinate to the Bylaws and Policies of the Board of Regents and amendments thereto hereafter adopted.

Section 5. The confidentiality and security of faculty and student files in offices throughout campus shall be preserved and protected at all times. Information of a personal and private nature about faculty and students shall not be divulged by any office of the University, except upon legal grounds or for official university purposes or at the request of and with the consent of the faculty member or student concerned.

Section 6. The policies and regulations of the Board of Regents will govern the eligibility of persons for employment or retention on the faculty, administration, and staff.