From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 19. Committee on Sustainability

  1. The Committee on Sustainability shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, the Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration, the Senior Director of Sustainability, the Assistant Athletic Director or designee, at least two (2) staff senators, two (2) students (senators or non-senators), and at least ten (10) faculty senators, preferably one (1) from each of the following: the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the College of Law, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, the School of Public Health, and the University Library.  In addition, the Associate Vice President for Facilities Management Services and the Director of Recreational Services shall be non-voting members.
  2. The purpose of the committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the University Senate and appropriate administrators regarding issues of sustainability. The duties of the committee shall be to provide a central focus for integration of academic programs, facility planning, and campus operating interests in sustainability. The committee shall recommend and support efforts to improve environmental stewardship and sustainability in facility planning and operations. The committee shall support sustainability as part of an ongoing education, research, operations, and outreach programs.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Risa Palm
  • Senior VP for Finance and Administration Jerry Rackliffe

At least ten (10) faculty senators:

  • Arts and Sciences Debra Snell
  • Arts Alessandra Raengo
  • Business Duane Truex
  • Education and Human Development Dennis Gilbride
  • Nursing and Health Professions Regena Spratling
  • Law Trisha Kanan
  • Perimeter Leila Lawlor
  • Policy Studies Robert Moore
  • Library Denise Dimsdale
  • At large (A&S) Dabney Dixon
  • At large (A&S) Dai Dajun
  • At large (A&S) Carrie Freeman
  • At large (A&S) Ian Campbell
  • At large (RCB) Jon Wiley
  • At large (RCB) Soon-Ho Kim
  • At large (AYSPS) Vjollca Sadiraj
  • At large (PC)  Lauren Cutright (chair)
  • At large (PC)  Lisa Alembik
  • At large (PC)  Joanna Wilson
  • At large (PC)  Dan Bulger
  • At large (PC)  Pamela Gore
  • At large (PC)  Kathy Dolan


  • Staff Senator Janice Maxwell
  • Staff Senator Ariday Walkes
  • Student Alexander Lloyd
  • Student Luis Aleman
  • Associate VP for Facilities Management Services (non-voting) Ramesh Vakamudi
  • Director of Recreational Services (non-voting) Melissa Buchheit
  • Additional student representative Christin Smith

Administrative Assistant to the Committee  to be appointed


1 2
Document Title Meeting Date File
2016/02/09 Senate Sustainability Committee minutes 02/09/2016
2016/03/09 Senate Sustainability Committee minutes 03/09/2016
2016/09/13 Senate Sustainability Committee meeting 09/13/2016
2016/10/12 Senate Sustainability Committee minutes 10/12/2016
2017/01/11 Senate Sustainability Committee minutes 01/11/2017
2017/08/30 Sustainability Committee minutes 08/30/2017
2017/09/26 Senate Sustainability Committee minutes 09/26/2017
1 2


View Full Calendar