Planning & Development


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 8. Committee on Planning and Development

  1. The Committee on Planning and Development shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; the Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration;  the Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs; the Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation; the Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness; the Associate Vice President for Facilities Management; three students who are members of the University Senate; at least two staff senators; and at least twenty-eight (28) faculty senators with at least one senator from each of the following: the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Education and Human Development, the College of the Arts, the College of Law, Perimeter College, the School of Public Health, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, and the University Library, with the remaining members selected at large. The following shall serve as ex-officio, non-voting members:  the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Vice President for Research and Economic Development, the Chief Innovation Officer, and the Dean of Libraries.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the President and University Senate. The committee shall be responsible for the development of long-range projections, taking into account the role and scope of the University, its financial resources, budget-making process, and its relation with, and service to, the public. Included in the responsibilities of the committee shall be the recommendation of the University Strategic Plan; consideration of long-range planning for academic programs as developed by the Committee on Admissions and Standards, the Committee on Academic Programs, and the Committee on Research; the acquisition of facilities, the maintenance of physical facilities and grounds, the allocation of space, development, alumni affairs, and institutional studies; and to oversee the Administrative and Support Unit Review process.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Risa Palm
  • Senior VP for Finance and Administration Jerry Rackliffe
  • VP for Development and Alumni Affairs Walter Massey
  • Associate Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation Mary Beth Walker
  • Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness Michael Galchinsky
  • Associate Vice President for Facilities Management Ramesh Vakamudi
  • Student (member of the senate) Franklin Patterson
  • Student (member of the senate) Allen Bosbyshell
  • Student (member of the senate) Gregory Wright
  • Staff senator Kike Ehigiator
  • Staff senator Chris Connelly

At least 28 faculty members as follows:

  • Arts and Sciences Jonathan Gayles
  • Arts Richard Clement
  • Business Chris Fenn
  • Education and Human Development Nancy Schafer
  • Nursing and Health Professions Regena Spratling
  • Law Jennifer Chiovaro
  • Policy Studies Josh Hinkle
  • Library Denise Dimsdale
  • Perimeter Joe Patterson
  • Public Health Ike Okosun
  • Faculty senator Julia Hilliard
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Kathryn Grant
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Alex Zelikovsky
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Michael Harker
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Jared Poley (chair)
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Dai Dajun
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Russel White
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Lindsey Cohen
  • Faculty senator (A&S) Sebastian Rand
  • Faculty senator (Arts) Martin Norgaard
  • Faculty senator (RCB) Andrew Sumner
  • Faculty senator (RCB) Pam Barr
  • Faculty senator (RCB) Ed Rigdon
  • Faculty senator  (CEHD) Dashaunda Patterson
  • Faculty senator  (AYSPS) Josh Hinkle
  • Faculty senator (AYSPS) Vjollca Sadiraj
  • Faculty senator (PC) Laura Edmunds
  • Faculty senator (PC) Brendan Balint
  • Faculty senator (PC) Kouok Law
  • Faculty senator (PC) Charles Fox
  • Faculty senator  (PC) Eric Morton
  • Faculty senator  (PC) Solomon Fesseha
  • Faculty senator  (PC) Pamela Gore
  • VP for Student Affairs (non-voting) Doug Covey
  • Chief Innovation Officer (non-voting) Phil Ventimiglia
  • Dean of Libraries (non-voting) Jeff Steely
  • VP for Research and Economic Development (non-voting) James Weyhenmeyer
  • Presidential Appointee Keith Sumas

Administrative Assistant to the committee: to be named


1 2
Document Title Meeting Date File
2012/01/17 Senate P & D Committee minutes 01/17/2012
2012/03/20 Senate P & D Committee minutes 03/20/2012
2012/04/23 Senate P & D Committee minutes 04/23/2012
2012/08/20 Senate P&D Committee minutes 08/20/2012
2012/11/13 Senate P&D Committee minutes 11/13/2012
2013/01/22 Senate P&D Committee minutes 01/22/2013
2013/03/25 Senate P&D Committee minutes 03/25/2013
2013/04/22 Senate P&D Committee minutes 04/22/2013
2013/09/17 Senate P&D Committee minutes 09/17/2013
2013/10/14 Senate P&D Committee minutes 10/14/2013
2013/11/05 Senate P&D Committee minutes 11/05/2013
2013/12/09 Senate P&D Committee minutes 12/09/2013
2014/01/21 Senate P&D Committee minutes 01/21/2014
2014/02/18 Senate P&D Committee minutes 02/18/2014
2014/04/22 Senate P&D Committee minutes 04/22/2014
2014/09/09 Senate P&D Committee minutes 09/09/2014
2014/10/13 Senate P&D Committee minutes 10/13/2014
2014/11/11 Senate P&D Committee minutes 11/11/2014
2014/12/08 Senate P&D Committee minutes 12/08/2014
2015/01/20 Senate P&D Committee minutes 01/20/2015
1 2


View Full Calendar