Jinah postcard shoot

Cultural Diversity


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:
Section 16. Committee on Cultural Diversity

  1. The Committee on Cultural Diversity shall be composed of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, the Associate Provost for International Initiatives, the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, the Senior Faculty Associate for Disabilities, the Director of Affirmative Action, a representative from the Office of International Student and Scholar Services, two (2) students senators, two (2) staff senators, and at least twelve (12) faculty senators, preferably one each from the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, the College of Law, and the University Library, with the remaining members selected at large.  The Ombudsperson shall serve as a non-voting member.
  2. The purpose of this committee shall be to advise and make recommendations to the University Senate on any matters concerning cultural diversity. The duties of this committee shall include:
    1. advocating equal treatment for the groups identified under the Equal Opportunity Statement, which include race, gender, sexual orientation, age, disability, national origin, and religion, and recommending ways in which the campus climate might be made more supportive of diversity;
    2. reviewing the annual report by the Affirmative Action Office on faculty, student, and staff diversity, and providing an annual Cultural Diversity Report on campus progress and areas of concern to the Senate at the Spring meeting as well as to the Senate Executive Committee for referral to the appropriate standing committee(s);
    3. supporting the continued diversity of incoming students and their retention by assisting the appropriate bodies;
    4. assuring diversity in the recruitment and retention of staff at all levels;
    5. disseminating information to the colleges as needed to implement their guidelines for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty;
    6. advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Underrepresented Faculty on strategies for recruiting and retaining underrepresented faculty, and advising the Senior Faculty Associate for Women as needed;
    7. reviewing and recommending changes to the University’s policies on Discriminatory Harassment and Sexual Harassment; and
    8. participating in the development, review, and recommendation of changes in University policies supporting equal treatment for the groups identified above.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the establishment of a new committee.


  • Vice President for Student Affairs Douglass Covey
  • Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs  Kavita Pandit
  • Associate Provost for International Initiatives Wolfgang Schloer
  • Associate VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Darryl Holloman
  • Senior Faculty Associate for Disabilities Judith Emerson
  • Director of Affirmative Action Annette Butler
  • International Student Services representative Heather Housley
  • Student senator (appt. by SGA) Ari Jones
  • Student senator (appt. by SGA) Nu-Ni Lee
  • Staff senator Janice Maxwell
  • Staff senator Candiss Addison

Twelve (12) faculty members:

  • Arts and Sciences Rasha Ramzy
  • Arts Alessandra Raengo
  • Business Mourad Dakhli
  • Education and Human Development Yali Zhao
  • Nursing and Health Professions Paula Gordon
  • Perimeter Debora Constable
  • Policy Studies Cyntoria Johnson
  • Public Health Daniel Crimmins
  • Library Scott Pieper
  • Campus Ombudsperson  Kelley Alexander (non-voting member)
  • At large (A&S) Diane Belcher 
  • At large (A&S) Renee Schatteman
  • At large (A&S) Fernando Reati
  • At large (A&S) James Ainsworth (chair)
  • At large (A&S) Mathew Gayman
  • At large (A&S) Emanuela Guano
  • At large (IBS) Leszek Ignatowicz
  • At large (CoE) Dashaunda Patterson
  • At large (RCB) Fernando Doria
  • At large (RCB) Kofi Dadzie
  • At large (PC)  Kathryn Crowther
  • At large (PC)  Jason Flato
  • At large (PC)  Katherine Perry
  • At large (PC)  Kimberly Bennekin
  • At large (PC)  Leila Lawlor
  • At large (PC)  Joann Lee Joyner
  • At large (PC) Lisa Alembik
  • At large (PC) Joanna Wilson
  • At large (PC) Erin Morrey
  • At large (PC) Romney Norwood
  • At large (PC) Claudette Tolson
  • Student representative Allysha Watson

Administrative Assistant to the Committee to be named, Office of Faculty Affairs/Student Affairs



1 2
Document Title Meeting Date File
2012/01/18 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 01/18/2012
2012/03/22 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 03/22/2012
2012/08/30 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 08/30/2012
2012/09/24 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 09/24/2012
2012/12/03 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 12/03/2012
2013/01/31 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 01/31/2013
2013/02/28 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 02/28/2013
2013/03/28 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 03/28/2013
2013/09/10 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 09/10/2013
2013/10/09 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 10/09/2013
2013/12/10 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 12/10/2013
2014/02/20 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 02/20/2014
2014/03/26 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 03/26/2014
2014/09/02 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 09/02/2014
2014/10/06 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 10/06/2014
2014/11/04 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 11/04/2014
2014/12/01 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 12/01/2014
2015/01/06 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 01/06/2015
2015/03/03 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 03/03/2015
2015/04/06 Cultural Diversity Committee minutes 04/06/2015
1 2


View Full Calendar