Enrollment Services

Admissions & Standards


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:
Section 5. Committee on Admissions and Standards.

  1. The Committee on Admissions and Standards shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; the Vice President for Student Affairs; the Director of Admissions; the Registrar; the Dean of Students; the Director of Financial Aid; the Dean of the Honors College; the Director of the Student Advisement Center; one student who is a member of the Senate; two staff senators; and at least twenty-three (23) faculty senators, as follows: six (6) members from the College of Arts and Sciences; five (5) members from Perimeter College; four (4) members from the J. Mack Robinson College of Business; three (3) members from the College of Education and Human Development; one (1) member each from the  Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions; the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies; the School of Public Health; the College of the Arts, and the College of Law; with the remaining members selected at large.
  2. The committee shall review and recommend to the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost and to the University Senate (1) changes in requirements and standards for admission to the university’s undergraduate degree programs, (2) changes in requirements and standards for undergraduate graduation, (3) changes in any university-wide requirements and standards for admission to or graduation from graduate degree programs, (4) changes in undergraduate academic regulations and any university-wide graduate academic regulations, (5) changes in the requirements concerning grades and the grading system, (5) petitions for deviations from the requirements and standards just listed, and (6) policies regarding enrollment management, and academic calendar.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Risa Palm
  • VP for Student Services Douglass Covey
  • Director of Admissions Scott Burke
  • Registrar Tarrah Mirus
  • Dean of Students Darryl Holloman
  • Dean of the Honors College Larry Berman
  • Director of the Student Advisement Center Carol Cohen
  • Student (member of the Senate) Alonda Cruz-Hernandez
  • Student (member of the Senate) Alana Burrell
  • Staff Senator Ivy Horn-Gardner
  • Staff Senator Kike Ehigiator

At least 23 faculty members as follows:

  • Arts and Sciences Gangli Wang
  • Arts and Sciences Yanqing Zhang
  • Arts and Sciences Elizabeth Lopez (chair)
  • Arts and Sciences David Cheshier
  • Arts and Sciences Michelle Brattain
  • Perimeter Debra Denzer
  • Perimeter Alice Pierce
  • Perimeter Chandra Breaux
  • Perimeter Brendan Balint
  • Perimeter Deborah Manson
  • Business Gerald Gay
  • Business Bronislaw Verhage
  • Business Lixin Huang
  • Business Siva Nathan
  • Education and Human Development Jacqueline Laures-Gore
  • Education and Human Development Chantee Earl
  • Education and Human Development Deborah Shapiro
  • Nursing and Health Professions Paula Gordon
  • Policy Studies Greg Streib
  • Public Health Daniel Crimmins
  • Arts Patrick Freer
  • Law Kris Niedringhaus
  • At large (A&S) Valerie Miller
  • At large (A&S) Wendy Venet
  • At large (A&S) Dan Cox
  • At large (A&S)  Ciara Smalls-Glover
  • At large (A&S) Lindsey Cohen
  • At large (PC)  Maureen Burkart
  • At large (PC)  Marc Zayac
  • Presidential appointee Lisa Armistead

Administrative Assistant to the committee:  Wanda Taylor, Vice Provost’s Office


Enacted Committee Proposals

Listing of previous proposals approved by the Admissions and Standards Committee and enacted by the university.


1 2
Document Title Meeting Date File
2017/02/22 Admissions & Standards Committee minutes 02/22/2017
2017/03/31 Admissions & Standards Committee minutes 03/31/2017
2017/04/26 Admissions & Standards Committee minutes 04/26/2017
2017/07/26 Admissions & Standards Committee minutes 07/26/2017
2017/09/27 Admissions & Standards Committee minutes 09/27/2017
1 2


View Full Calendar