Academic Programs


From the University Senate Bylaws, Article VII. Committees:

Section 6. Committee on Academic Programs

  1. The Committee on Academic Programs shall be composed of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success; the academic deans of the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, the College of the Arts, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education and Human Development, the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of Law, the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, the School of Public Health, and the Honors College; one student who is a member of the Senate; two staff senators; and at least twenty-seven (27) faculty senators, as follows: four (4) members each from the College of Arts and Sciences, Perimeter College, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, and the College of Education and Human Development; two (2) members from the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies; one (1) each from the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions,the College of the Arts, the College of Law, and the School of Public Health; with the remaining members selected at large.
  2. The duties of the committee shall include the following:
    1. developing long-range plans for the academic affairs of the University;
    2. reviewing and recommending of university policies concerning curricula, new and existing programs, the deactivation and termination of academic programs, and the core curriculum;
    3. assessing academic programs and general education;
    4. approving courses having a university-wide designation;
    5. advising the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost on graduate and undergraduate matters, including the promotion, development, and coordination of graduate and undergraduate education.
  3. The committee shall elect a chair within ten (10) working days after the election of a new committee.

Academic Programs Guide & Resources

  • Academic Programs Guide: Proposal templates and review process information for each of the types of academic program under the committee’s purview.
  • Policies & Resources: Links to enacted policies of the committee and related resources.


  • Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost Risa Palm
  • Vice Provost Tim Renick
  • Dean, Arts and Sciences Sara Rosen
  • Dean, Business Richard Phillips
  • Dean, Education and Human Development Paul Alberto
  • Dean, Nursing and Health Professions  Nancy Kropf
  • Dean, Law Steve Kaminshine
  • Dean, Perimeter College  Peter Lyons
  • Dean, Policy Studies Mary Beth Walker
  • Dean, Honors College  Larry Berman
  • Student (Senate member) 
  • Staff Senator John Medlock
  • Staff Senator Emily Cowdrick

At least 27 faculty members as follows:

  • Arts and Sciences Joseph Peragine
  • Arts and Sciences Sara Cushing
  • Arts and Sciences Deborah Baro
  • Arts and Sciences Margo Brinton
  • Business Siva Nathan
  • Business Chip Ryan
  • Business Faye Borthick
  • Business Patricia Ketsche
  • Education and Human Development Chara Bohan
  • Education and Human Development  Becky Ellis
  • Education and Human Development  Andrea Dixon
  • Education and Human Development Laura Fredrick
  • Nursing and Health Professions  Lynda Goodfellow
  • Law Kelly Timmons
  • Perimeter Deborah Manson
  • Perimeter Stuart Noel
  • Perimeter Sally Robertson
  • Perimeter Michael Bradley
  • Policy Studies Shelby Frost
  • Policy Studies  Joseph Hacker
  • Public Health  Ike Okosun
  • At large (A&S) Ming Luo
  • At large (A&S) LeeAnn Richardson
  • At large (A&S) Kathryn Grant
  • At large (A&S) Michael Weeks
  • At large (A&S) Mary Ann Romski
  • At large (A&S) Alexandra Smirmova
  • At large (A&S) Michael Stewart
  • At large (A&S) Michelle Brattain (chair)
  • At large (A&S) Jared Poley
  • At large (A&S) Gennady Cymbalyuk
  • At large (A&S) Brian Thoms
  • At large (A&S) Carrie Manning
  • At large (A&S) Ciara Smalls-Glover
  • At large (A&S) Kathryn McClymond
  • At large (A&S) Marie Sumner Lott
  • At large (Library) Jennifer Jones
  • Presidential appointee  Volkan Topalli
  • Presidential appointee  Lisa Armistead
  • Presidential appointee Allison Calhoun-Brown
  • At large (IBS) Timothy Denning
  • At large (PC)  Rick Robinson
  • At large (PC)  Alice Pierce
  • At large (PC)  James Battey
  • At large (PC)  Jonathan Lochamy
  • At large (PC)  Claudette Tolson
  • At large (PC)  Adam Stone
  • At large (PC)  Michael Bradley


1 2
Document Title Meeting Date File
2012/01/17 Academic Programs Committee minutes 01/17/2012
2012/02/21 Academic Programs Committee minutes 02/21/2012
2012/04/24 Academic Programs Committee minutes 04/24/2012
2012/09/18 Academic Programs Committee minutes 09/18/2012
2012/12/11 Academic Programs Committee minutes 12/11/2012
2013/02/26 Academic Programs Committee minutes 02/26/2013
2013/03/26 Academic Programs Committee minutes 03/26/2013
2013/05/21 Academic Programs Committee minutes 05/21/2013
2013/06/19 Academic Programs Committee minutes 06/19/2013
2013/07/16 Academic Programs Committee minutes 07/16/2013
2013/08/20 Academic Programs Committee minutes 08/20/2013
2013/09/17 Academic Programs Committee minutes 09/17/2013
2013/11/19 Academic Programs Committee minutes 11/19/2013
2014/03/25 Academic Programs Committee minutes 03/25/2014
2014/05/27 Academic Programs Committee minutes 05/27/2014
2014/10/21 Academic Programs Committee minutes 10/21/2014
2014/11/11 Academic Programs Committee minutes 11/11/2014
2014/12/09 Academic Programs Committee minutes 12/09/2014
2015/02/17 Academic Programs Committee minutes 02/17/2015
2015/05/26 Academic Programs Committee minutes 05/26/2015
1 2